The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that the seventh LG ICC Awards ceremony would take place in Bengaluru (formerly known as Bangalore), India, on 6 October, 2010. The event will be staged in association with Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA).

And for the first time this year’s LG ICC Awards features a new category, the LG People’s Choice Award. This award will be chosen by cricket fans around the world who will get a chance to vote for their favourite player on-line from a short-list of five cricketers who will be selected by the ICC selection panel on the basis of some really innovative parameters, in sync with the values that embody brand LG.

ICC President Sharad Pawar said: ‘It is a great honour for India to host the prestigious LG ICC Awards for the second time since its inception in 2004. I am looking forward to attending what will be my first major event since taking over the ICC Presidency in July.

“The LG ICC Awards are being decided at the end of some excellent and thrilling series, including two hugely successful ICC global events in ICC Champions Trophy 2009 and ICC World Twenty20 2010 and there are quite a few superlative performances to consider,” he said.

The ICC selection panel will nominate the five LG People’s Choice Awards candidates and the names will be posted on on 23 August and cricket fans will then have an opportunity to vote for the cricketer of their choice online until 10 September.

The nominations for seven of the awards will be made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by ICC Cricket Hall of Famer, former West Indies captain and Chairman of ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former India captain Ravi Shastri, former England fast bowler Angus Fraser, ex-Zimbabwe batsman and England coach Duncan Fletcher and former Australia opener Matthew Hayden. This panel will also select the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

The winners of those seven individual awards will be voted upon by a 25 strong panel of renowned former players, respected members of the media, and an elite umpire and an elite match referee.

Meanwhile, the nominations for the Women’s Cricketer of the Year Award will be decided by a separate 25-person voting academy featuring former players and other experts on the women’s game.

The Spirit of Cricket Award will be voted on by all the Full Member international captains as well as all members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees while the Full Member captains and elite match referees will vote on the Umpire of the Year Award.

LG ICC Awards 2010
Individual Awards

Cricketer of the Year
Test Player of the Year
ODI Player of the Year
Emerging Player
Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year
Twenty20 International Performance of the Year
Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Umpire of the Year
Spirit of Cricket
LG People’s Choice Award