Newbery American Cricket Champions League

ACCL 2015 Season Off To A Hot Start Up With Three New Teams

News June 5, 2015 admin 0

The Newbery ACCL has attracted three more leagues this season – The New York Bangladesh Cricket League, The North Texas Cricket Association, and the Dallas Cricket League, bringing the premier national domestic cricket league total to 20 leagues across eight divisions under the ACF banner, and representing almost all the major metro regions of the country.

National tournaments are not easy to plan, coordinate, and execute, but these are good challenges to have when the goal is the betterment of American cricket and the prize is the national title.

Last month saw some early round games with Arizona Scorpions stinging both Southern California Bears and Orange County Cougars in the Southwest Division and Florida All Stars beating North Florida Thunder in the Florida Division. In the Mid-Atlantic Division, Philadelphia Tigers overcame a spirited challenge from the Washington Eagles in a high scoring game. This weekend will see a terrific match-up between the Washington Eagles and New Jersey Braves in a battle of the 95 South, on the grass turf wicket in Laurel, Maryland. Will the Eagles pluck the Braves’ feathers or will the Braves upset the Eagles’ nest on Saturday? Who knows, but it should be a sizzling summer in more ways than one!

By the time Labor Day rolls around, eight teams will have qualified for the ACF Octoberfest of Cricket – The National Championship in sunny Orlando, FL.

Will the Florida All Stars keep the Crystal Cup or will there be a new champion crowned? It does not matter where you call home – Southern California or New England, or what team you root for, Cougars, Scorpions, All Stars or Miners, there will be one undisputed winner – American cricket!

Good luck and stay tuned!