By Dervon Wallace
With 4 rounds of games completed in the 2015 40 overs Clement “Busta” Lawrence Premier League, teams in the Metropolitan Cricket League will take a break from this format and turn their attention to the preliminary rounds of the 2015 Roy Sweeny Twenty20 Challenge.

Realizing that since the inception of the Twenty20 which use to commence after the finals of the 40 over competition, teams, especially those who missed out on the title or fail to make it to the playoff would lose interest and of such the twenty20 was never as highly contested as the organizers would’ve liked. This prompted the 2015 Executives to incorporate the Twenty20 competition into the early stage of the season, a move which everyone associated hope will show a more supported highly contested Twenty20.

This year the Twenty20 also has a new format. The new look format will see all sixteen teams playing four preliminary games over three Sundays: June 14th, 21st and 28th. After the preliminary rounds the top eight overall on points will move on to the Quarterfinals knockout stage which will be played on September 20th from where the winners will advance to the semifinal on September 27th from where the finalists for the October 4th championship game will be decided. To make things interesting there will be monetary incentives for the top 4 teams.

Good luck to all sixteen teams and may the best team win!!!!

We welcome reports from all clubs and leagues, contact us at