American League 2012 Steve Holder Zone Champions
A large crowd of youth cricket supporters is expected to attend the Presentation of Awards Ceremony of the New York Youth Cricket Club, Sunday, December 16, 2012 at Flowers Rehab Center at the corner of South Conduit Avenue and Springfield Boulevard in Queens, NY. The event begins at 2:00 pm and there will be plenty to eat and drink.

The players will be rewarded for their outstanding efforts during the 2012 cricket season, participating in the American Cricket League. New York Youth Cricket Club won the Steve Holder Zone with a record of 11 wins and 3 losses.  Unfortunately they were not afforded the opportunity to achieve their goal of a championship, as the competition was aborted as a result of a lawsuit filed against the league.

If one were to include friendly games played during 2012, the club’s record would be 16 wins and 4 losses. It was a truly outstanding performance during the year, considering the New York Youth Cricket Club players range in age from 14 to 20 years, and the youngsters played against adult cricketers.

The following New York Youth Cricket Club members have been nominated for awards:
Rafeek Nazeer, Omar Afridi, Randall Wilson, Trinson Carmichael, Syed Hussain, Chris Singh, Trevor Singh, Abdullah Afridi, Himalaya Darji, Ryan Persaud, Elliott Bedessee, Keifer Phils, Michael Katwaroo, Chetram Persaud, Surrendra Singh, Andre Koulen.

Other nominees are Troy Mars, Trevis Ross and Clifford Hamilton. The Manager, Clifford Hinds and Coach Milton Pydanna are expecting all parents and supporters to attend and support this remarkable and very successful youth initiative.