Commonwealth Cricket League

Rockaway Captures CCL West Division Championship

New YorkNews October 1, 2016 admin

The victorious Rockaway Cricket Club.

The victorious Rockaway Cricket Club.

The 2016 Commonwealth Cricket League West Divisional final was played at Baisley Pond Park in Queens, on Sunday, September 25, 2016.

Skippers Javed Ali of Rockaway Cricket Club and Darmin Khameraj of Pioneer Cricket Club did the coin toss. Pioneer won the toss and elected to bat first posting 180 for the loss of six wickets. The main contributors were Tolie Ramgahan, who along with Terrence Singh opened the batting and posted 45 before Ramgahan fell to Balchand Baldeo, caught Parsram Beepat for 17.

Terrence Singh would find a useful partner in Mario Persaud and the pair added 94 runs for the second wicket. Singh was eventually run-out by Tuladeo Tribhowan for a brilliant knock of 66 that came off 86 balls and included 7 fours. M. Persaud was the only other batter to make a significant contribution. He struck 67, which came off 66 balls; he hit 6 fours and a six in his half-century. Extras was the third highest contributor with 20.

Parsram Beepat was the most successful bowler, picking up 2 for 27 off 5 overs. Mark Tyrell and Yavandra Jagdeo picked up one wicket apiece.

Rockaway had a disastrous start losing two quick wickets, that of opener Hafeez Ali and number three batsman Richard Ramdeen when the scores were on 5 and 6, Ali fell for 2 and Ramdeen was run-out for a duck. The other opener Tuladeo Tribhowan would put on 36 with Balram Airon. Tribhowan fell when the score was on 42, Balram fell 10 runs later, and they contributed 18 and 20 respectively.

But it was pacer Mark Tyrell who batted at number five that brought some stability to the inning. He batted patiently with his other partners. He put on 26 runs with Balchand Baldeo who made 14, and then 40 runs with Parsram Beepat who contributed 30 out of those 40 runs.

Leon Scott would join Tyrell and the two would see Rockaway home. Scott being the more aggressive of the pair, hitting an unbeaten 37 from 26 balls that included 2 fours and 2 sixes.

Mark Tyrell was left not out on 30, which came off 57 deliveries; he struck a single boundary in his composed inning.

Extras was another main contributor for Rockaway as it totaled 33. Thirty-two of the extras were wides.

Neil Drepaul and Mario Persaud picked up two wickets apiece, while Danny Pooran captured one wicket.