Metropolitan Cricket League T20
By Dervon Wallace
(September 30, 2012) Villagers CC was dethrone as New York Metropolitan Cricket League (NYMCL)T20 joint-champion as they were yet again ambushed by their nemesis Westbury CC who has made Villagers their own having seams to win against them at will as been evident over the years and most recently in their last 3 meetings this season.

Report by Dervon Wallace

On a cool fall morning with the sun peeping out Villagers captain Cliff Roye won the toss and elected to bat first and was in early trouble losing both openers in the space of 3 balls in the third over; first Donald Bennett to a sharp lifting delivery from Jermaine Lawson which he fended to D. Ferguson at short-midwicket for 11 with the score on 14 and then 3 balls later with one run added Richard Staple via the run out route  for 3 having been put down by Javein Thomas on the edge of the 30 yard circle at mid-off but somehow with his and batting partner Rashard Marshall experience were both caught ball watching and at the last moment Staple decided to look for a single to which Marshall was not interesting and both batsmen were stranded at the non-strikers end and Thomas manage to return the ball to wicket keeper Kevin Baugh and Staple in his peruse to get back was found short . Villagers never recover as wicket fell regularly despite an attacking 31 from captain Roye and an even more attacking 32 from top scorer George Adams who faced 17 balls to finish on 121 for 7 from allotted 20 overs a score that wasn’t going to be enough on a small Gateway ground.

Bowling for Westbury; Lawson 2 for 15 from 4 overs, Linden St. Louis 0 for 12 from 3 overs, Horace Porter 1 for 18 from 4 overs, Clinton Lewis 1 for 34 from 3 overs, Javein Thomas 2 for 21 from 3 overs and Barrington Bartley 0 for 17 from 3 overs.

Needing 122 for victory and a place in the final in a bid to win all 3 trophies on offer in the NYMCL, Westbury cruise to victory with 6 overs remaining finishing on 122 for 2 thanks to an opening stand of 90 in 11 overs between Baugh( 36)  and the ever reliable Dennison Thomas (47). Bartley who seams in a hurry to get on the belt parkway to the Floyd Bennett ground to contest the final was unbeaten on a quick fire 26 from 11 balls and Paul Salmon was left not out on 6 from 2 balls having hit his master’s teammate Roye back over his head for a biggie.

Bowling for Villagers; Adams 1 for 32 from 4 overs, Talisman Gordon 0 for 22 from 2 overs, Marshall 0 for 26 from 3 overs, Staple 0 for 21 from 3 overs and Roye 1 for 19 from 2 overs.

Semi-final 2 at Floyd Bennett
Progressive CC defeated the helpless Cosmos CC in semi-final 2 at Floyd Bennett Cricket Field. Cosmos won the toss and invited Progressive to take first strike in a match reduced to 15 overs. Progressive posted a challenging 147 for 9 thanks  to a top score of 37 from captain Kelvin George and 31 from the Veteran John Sylvester, Ricky Kissoon finished with 3 for 27 from 3 overs , C. Dino 3 for 32 from 3 overs and S. Salam 2 for 20 from 3 overs.  In their turn at bat Cosmos could only manage 101 for 6 H. Riaz making 20 C. Burton 22 and Haraldo Marshall not out on 26.Lloyd Rattary finished with 3 for 20 from 3 overs, M. Miller 1 for 18 from 3 overs and Sylvester 1 for 17 from 2 overs.

Only 3.3 overs were possible in the final as rain which preceded the final proved to be dangerous for the players and of such the game was called off for the second straight year and Westbury and Progressive crowned joint- champions.

Congratulation to Westbury Cricket Club for having a hand on all three trophies on offer in the 2012 NYMCL season having already lifted the Clement “Busta” Lawrence Round Robin and Roy Sweeney Challenge Cup Trophies.