USA Cricketers

Second Edition of Global T20 Bowls Off Thursday

global t20 canada stadium
global 20 canada stadium
The facility in Brampton, Canada which will host the tournament. Photo: Global T20 Canada

By Ravi Madholall in Toronto
The second edition of the Global T20 is set to bowl off Thursday at the CAA Centre in Brampton, Toronto and excitement galore is once again greatly anticipated.

A galaxy of top-class T20 star-studded cricketers is expected to grace the occasion when the actions begin at 12:30hrs between defending champions Vancouver Knights and Toronto Nationals.

Reflecting on what would have transpired in 2018 at the lone King City venue, cricket enthusiasts in North America should predict the same level of fascination as six teams are ready to rumble.

The other participating Franchises are: Edmonton Royals, Winnipeg Hawks, Montreal Tigers and Brampton Wolves. The Wolves are the only new team for this year’s event replacing a West Indies “B” combination that featured in the final.

Vancouver Knights will be once again led by West Indies destructive opening batsman Chris Gayle while the Toronto Nationals have former New Zealand skipper and prolific batsman Brendon McCullum as their skipper.

Apart from these two distinguished cricketers, other stalwarts and accomplished players are suiting for different teams including Yuvraj Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shahid Afridi, Keiron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Kane Williamson, George Bailey, Faf Du Plesis, Thisara Perera, Shakib Al Hasan and Darren Sammy.

In addition to that, several senior members from the Canada national team will also be representative for the six teams. Former skipper and attacking batsman Rizwan Cheema, left-arm orthodox spinner Safar Bin Zafar, who captured the player-of-the-match award last year for Vancouver Knights, energetic right-arm fast-bowler Jeremy Gordon, and stylist left-handed opener Ruvindra Gunasekera among other local athletes will get a massive opportunity to showcase their talents to the world.

Like last year, the format remains the same on a round-robin basis with the top team having a second chance to make it to the final at the knock-out stages.

Again Cd$500, 000 will be at stake for the champion side while the runners-up team will pocket Cd$250, 000.

Exit mobile version