Barbados defeated India
Lauderhill, Florida. Barbados defeated India by 5 wickets in the opening match in Group B of the 11th Annual Lauderhill Maq T20 Intl. Night Cricket Tournament last Saturday. Winning the toss and electing to bat, India innings were interpreted by rain at the 18th over with the score on 136 for 5. Sandeep Desai and Jignesh Patel combined for opening partnership of 73 to the lead the Indian batting attacked against the Bajans.

Team Barbados.

Desai smashed six fours and four sixes to top scored with 55, while Patel chipped in with 25 including five fours. Other useful contributions came from Sunil Nair 19 with four fours and an unbeaten 17 from Rajesh Jain. Bowling for Barbados, Dwayne James took 2 for 18 from three overs, whilst Kenny Smith claimed one for 26 and David Braithwaite one for 33.

Under the Duckworth-Lewis method, Barbados was set a victory target of 132 within 16 overs. Former USA national representative Richard Louis led the way for the Bajans with an entertaining 33 from 20 balls including four sixes. Opener Kenny Smith slammed 33 with three fours and two sixes, while Peter Anthony struck a delightful 32 including three fours and one six. Bowling for India, Sunil Nair grabbed 3 for 18, Noman Ali 1 for 22 and Abhiser Sahai 1 for 23.

Trinidad & Tobago defeated Lauderhill
Reigning champions Trinidad & Tobago defeated Lauderhill by 22 runs in the second game of Lauderhill Maq T20 Intl. Night Cricket Tournament. Winning the toss and electing to bat in front of hundreds of screaming supporters, Trinidad lost its captain Timothy Surujbally on the first ball of the innings. However, a second wicket partnership of 81 between USA national representative Anil Bhawani and Stefan Babulal help T&T to 186 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs. Babulal smashed 42 with four fours and three sixes. Bhawani scored 31 including three fours and one six.

Team Trinidad and Tobago.

Other valuable contributions came from Ravi Samlal who smashed 34 from 21 balls with three fours and two sixes, Baliram Nayak 32 including four fours and one six and Emielle Allahar 12. Bowling for Lauderhill, Siddique Mohammed bagged 2 for 32 and Perm Singh 2 for 38.

In reply, Lauderhill was dismissed for 164. Living up to his reputation as one of South Florida most dangerous hitters, veteran opening batsman Roy Weeks smashed seven fours and three sixes in his knock of 76. Other contributions came from Luther Anderson 25 (one four and two sixes), O’Neal Peart 19 (three fours) and Victor Charles 19 (two sixes). Bowling for T&T, Stefan Babulal grabbed 4 for 38, whilst Timothy Surujbally took 1 for 31, Gaston Walker 1 for 24 and Tazmool Hosein 1 for 30.

Next week Group C matches starts at 5pm with Pakistan vs. Combined Islands and Jamaica vs. Sri Lanka at 8pm. All matches will be played at the Lauderhill Sports Park – 7500 W. Oakland Park Blvd, Lauderhill.

[cafepress products=”shop:newyorkcricketcomOnlineStore” cols=”3″ rows=”2″ ]