ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – Windward Islands duo Devon Smith and Shane Shillingford again featured prominently on the list of award winners for the Regional 4-Day Tournament, which ended last Saturday in Barbados.

Devon Smith has tallied 700 runs in the tournament. WICB Media Photo/Randy Brooks

Smith carried away the Sir Vivian Richards award for being the top batsman in the tournament. He gathered 700 runs at an average of 70.00 from 14 innings in seven matches.

The compact, left-handed opener was similarly the top batsman in the Regional Super50 Tournament which the Windwards won.

He also picked up the Clive Lloyd award for top fielder, having clutched 15 catches.

Off-spinner Shillingford and Jamaica left-arm spinner Nikita Miller shared the Courtney Walsh award for the top bowler in the tournament however, both grabbing 52 wickets.

Like Smith, Shillingford had singularly been the top bowler in the RS50.

Lindon James, a third Windwards player, captured the Jeffrey Dujon award for top wicketkeeper. He featured in 27 dismissals, comprising 24 catches and three stumpings.

New champions Barbados produced Miguel Cummins, the West Indies selectors’ choice for the Most Promising Fast Bowler in the tournament.

Cummins, a graduate of the Sagicor West Indies High Performance Centre, took nine scalps in the Grand Final, propelling the Barbadians to an innings and 101-run victory over old foes Trinidad & Tobago. He finished the season with 35 wickets.

T&T’s Imran Khan earned the Malcolm Marshall award for being the top all-rounder. He scored 234 runs and snared 20 wickets.

Award winners
Headley/Weekes Trophy (Champions)
Barbados beat Trinidad & Tobago by an innings and 101 runs in the Grand Final

Top Batsman: Most Runs – Sir Vivian Richards Award (US $1,500)
Devon Smith (Windward Islands) 700 runs

Top Bowler: Most Wickets – Courtney Walsh Award (US $1,500)
Nikita Miller (Jamaica), Shane Shillingford (Windwards) 52 wickets

Top Fielder: Most Catches – Clive Lloyd Award (US $1,500)
Devon Smith (Windward Islands) 15 catches

Top All-rounder: Malcolm Marshall Award (US $1,500)
Imran Khan (Trinidad & Tobago) 234 runs, 20 wickets

Top Wicketkeeper: Most Dismissals – Jeffrey Dujon Award (US $1,500)
Lindon James (Windward Islands) 27 dismissals (24 catches, 3 stumpings)

Most Promising Fast Bowler: Andy Roberts Award (US $1,000)
Miguel Cummins (Barbados) 35 wickets