ST JOHN’S, Antigua — Test batsman Kraigg Brathwaite has been named Captain of the West Indies Team for the International Cricket Council’s Under-19 World Cup in Australia next month. The tournament runs from August 11 to 26.

Kraigg Brathwaite. Photo:

Brathwaite, a steady opening batsman, has played nine Test matches with four half-centuries. Left-hander John Campbell, who will be Brathwaite’s opening partner, was named as Vice Captain. Former West Indies Captain and fast bowling legend Courtney Walsh will again be Team Manager with Roddy Estwick as Head Coach.

Brathwaite and Campbell have formed a good opening combination for the past two years. They opened the batting at the last ICC Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand when the West Indies placed third. The other opener in the squad is Keiron Joseph, a small right-hander who is good against the short ball. The middle-order is strong with left-handers Anthony Alleyne and Akeal Hosein; stylish right-hander Kavem Hodge; as well as reserve wicket-keeper Sunil Ambris and first-choice keeper Seven Katwaroo.

The team includes two fast bowling allrounders — the hard-hitting Kyle Mayers and the hardworking Justin Greaves. There are also three specialist quick bowlers — Marquino Mindley, a lively swing bowler with a smooth action; Jerome Jones, the strongly-built left-armer; and Ronsford Beaton, the loose-limbed six-footer who has played nine first-class matches for Guyana.

The squad is rounded off with two specialist spinners Amir Khan, who bowls leg-breaks and googlies; and the ambidextrous Derone Davis, who bowls left-arm orthodox and is also an outstanding close-to-the-wicket fielder. Hodge is also a part-time left-arm spinner and Alleyne is a part-time off-break bowler.

The West Indies team will depart from Barbados on Tuesday, July 17. They will travel to Brisbane for a camp before the official pre-tournament matches. The Windies have been drawn in Group C alongside India, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea in the 16-team biennial event.

Kraigg Brathwaite – Captain (Barbados)
John Campbell – Vice Captain (Jamaica)
Anthony Alleyne (Barbados)
Sunil Ambris – Wicket-keeper (St. Vincent/Windwards)
Ronsford Beaton (Guyana)
Derone Davis (Trinidad & Tobago)
Justin Greaves (Barbados)
Kavem Hodge (Dominica/Windwards)
Akeal Hosein (Trinidad & Tobago)
Jerome Jones (Barbados)
Keiron Joseph (Trinidad & Tobago)
Steven Katwaroo – Wicket-keeper (Trinidad & Tobago)
Amir Khan (Guyana)
Kyle Mayers (Barbados)
Marquino Mindley (Jamaica)

Team Management:
Courtney Walsh (Team Manager)
Roddy Estwick (Head Coach)
Stuart Williams (Assistant Coach)
Janel Springer (Physiotherapist)
Ronald Rogers (Trainer)