WICB Professional Cricket League

90 Players In Draft Set For June 18th

Beyond USA June 17, 2015 admin 0

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – Half dozen players with Test match experience have been included in the list of 90 entered in the Player Draft of the West Indies Cricket Board Professional Cricket League.

The Player Draft, which has been organized with the goal of achieving an equitable distribution of the available player talent in the Regional 4-Day and NAGICO Super50 tournaments, takes place tomorrow, Thursday, June 18, at the Accra Beach Hotel in Barbados, starting at 1 p.m.

The WICB announced today the pool of players who will be in the Draft and fast bowler Tino Best, wicketkeeper/batsman Carlton Baugh Jr, batsman Kirk Edwards, left-arm spin bowling all-rounder Ryan Hinds, opener Xavier Marshall and left-handed opener Omar Phillips head the list, which also includes five other players with international playing experience. (See the full lists below).

The other players with international credentials are openers Miles Bascombe and Nkrumah Bonner, as well as off-spin all-rounder Royston Crandon, batsman Danza Hyatt and left-arm spinner Garey Mathurin.

Each of the six franchises in the PCL will select five players – including a minimum of two from outside their home territory – to add to the 10 players which they have already retained for a minimum squad complement of 15.
The six franchises in the League shall participate in the Draft through the Chairman of Selectors or Head Coach.

With the selection order for the Player Draft the reverse order of the final league position of the franchise in the 2014-15 WICB PCL Regional 4-Day Tournament, Leeward Islands Hurricanes will make the opening selection.

They will be followed by current NAGICO Super50 champions Trinidad & Tobago Red Force, then the Jamaica Franchise, Windward Islands Volcanoes, Barbados Pride and reigning Regional 4-Day champions Guyana Jaguars.

This sequence will be repeated for each of the five rounds of draft picks. Each franchise must pick a player in each round and will have two minutes to select the player. Where a selection is not made within the stipulated time, the offending franchise will miss their turn and must wait until all other franchises have made their selection in that round before making its selection.

A total of 30 players will be drafted. The remaining players will be available for Pay-For-Play contracts at the discretion of the various franchises.

Fans can view the “live” webcast of the Draft on the WICB’s website, www.windiescricket.com.

Protected players: Carlos Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Kyle Corbin, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Ashley Nurse, Shai Hope, Jomel Warrican

Draft nominees: Tino Best, Rashidi Boucher, Kirk Edwards, Justin Greaves, Antonio Greenidge, Ryan Hinds, Chaim Holder, Kyle Hope, Jerome Jones, Kyle Mayers, Kevin McClean, Omar Phillips, Javon Searles, Kevin Stoute, Kenroy Williams

Protected players: Christopher Barnwell, Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Anthony Bramble, Rajendra Chandrika, Assad Fudadin, Shimron Hetmyer, Veerasammy Permaul, Raymon Reifer, Vishaul Singh

Draft nominees: Anthony Adams, Ricardo Adams, Robin Bacchus, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Royston Crandon, Trevon Griffith, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Steven Jacobs, Raun Johnson, Keon Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Raj Nannan, Keemo Paul, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Paul Wintz

Protected players: Dave Bernard Jr, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Dawes, Nicholson Gordon, Damion Jacobs, Brandon King, Tamar Lambert, Nikita Miller, Marquino Mindley

Draft nominees: Carlton Baugh Jr, Nkrumah Bonner, Gavon Brown, Odean Brown, Brian Buchanan, Cassius Burton Jr, Jon-Ross Campbell, Danza Hyatt, Ramaal Lewis, Xavier Marshall, Andre McCarthy, Horace Miller, Paul Palmer Jr, Shacaya Thomas, Keno Wallace

Protected players: Quinton Boatswain, Kacey Carty, Rahkeem Cornwall, Alzarri Joseph, Steve Liburd, Orlando Peters, Sherwin Peters, Jacques Taylor, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge

Draft nominees: Deno Baker, Nelson Bolan, Richard Frederick, Jahmar Hamilton, Colin Hamer, Montcin Hodge, Shane Jeffers, Yannick Leonard, Tevin Osborne, Jaison Peters, Adelvin Phillips, Lyndel Richardson, Akeem Saunders, Rawlston Tuitt, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Protected players: Yannick Cariah, Kevon Cooper, Rayad Emrit, Steven Katwaroo, Imran Khan, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Kjorn Ottley, Ravi Rampaul, Marlon Richards

Draft nominees: Jahron Alfred, Ancil Bhagan, Brian Charles, Daron Cruickshank, Derone Davis, Mark Deyal, Akeal Hosein, Ricky Jaipaul, Kavesh Kantasingh, Ewart Nicholson, Yannic Ottley, Khary Pierre, Strassack Sankar, Jeremy Solozano, Nicholas Sookdeosingh

Protected players: Sunil Ambris, Alston Bobb, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Mervin Matthew, Kenroy Peters, Liam Sebastien, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Tyrone Theophile

Draft nominees: Miles Bascombe, Gian Benjamin, Roland Cato, Craig Emmanuel, Tayrick Gabriel, Dawnley Grant, Kevin James, Delorn Johnson, Keddy Lesporis, Garey Mathurin, Preston McSween, Dalton Polius, Jerlani Robinson, Denis Smith, Josh Thomas