The Zim Cyber City Zim Afro T10 witnessed a historic night as the Durban Qalandars emerged victorious, propelled by the explosive batting of Afghanistan’s Hazratullah Zazai. Facing off against the Joburg Buffaloes in a thrilling Final at the Harare Sports Club, the Qalandars triumphed with 8 wickets and 4 balls to spare.

Opting to bat first, the Joburg Buffaloes got off to a blazing start, courtesy of Mohammad Hafeez and Tom Banton. The opening pair rattled the bowlers, racing to a 50-run partnership in just over three overs. However, wickets fell in quick succession, slowing down the scoring rate. Yusuf Pathan provided some impetus with his fine stroke play, but the Buffaloes posted a competitive total of 127/4 at the end of their innings.

Durban Qalandars
Durban Qalandars beat Joburg Buffaloes by eight wickets to capture Zim Cyber City Zim Afro T10 title. Photo by Saikat Das / ACEIMAGES for Zim Afro T10

In response, the Durban Qalandars commenced their chase aggressively, with Tim Seifert leading the charge. His quickfire 30 from 13 deliveries set the tone. Joining forces with Andre Fletcher, Zazai took control and constructed a crucial 43-run partnership. The duo unleashed an array of boundaries, keeping the scoreboard ticking despite the pressure.

Usman Shinwari’s breakthrough removed Fletcher, but Zazai remained unfazed and continued his onslaught with Asif Ali. Displaying remarkable composure, the pair hammered the ball to the boundary with ease, thrilling the passionate crowd. As the chase neared its climax, Zazai showcased his brilliance by dispatching a boundary straight over the bowler’s head, securing the victory for the Qalandars.

Hazratullah Zazai’s match-winning knock of 43 not out from 22 deliveries powered the Durban Qalandars to their well-deserved title, marking an unforgettable conclusion to Zimbabwe’s first-ever T10 tournament.

Brief Scores:
Joburg Buffaloes
– 127/4 – (Tom Banton 36, Mohammad Hafeez – 32; George Linde – 1/22, Brad Evans – 1/24) lost by 8 wickets against the Durban Qalandars – 129/2 (Hazratullah Zaza – 43*, Tim Seifert – 30; Usman Shinwari – 2/15)