Guyana Named Official Host Country For ICC Women’s World T20 West Indies 2018

St John’s, ANTIGUA – When the ICC Women’s World T20 tournament rolls into the West Indies later this year (November 3 – 25), three countries will play host for the region.

Guyana, Saint Lucia and Antigua and Barbuda won the bids to host the three-week historic tournament, which will showcase the women’s version of the game in a stand-alone global event for the first time. Guyana will be officially declared as one of the host countries today, in a ceremony slated for 4pm, which will be hosted jointly by the People and Government of Republic of Guyana and with the Local Organizing Committee supported by Cricket West Indies.

The event will include the symbolic presentation of a cricket bat to signify Guyana’s commitment to host their leg of the event. Additionally, there will be brief greetings and remarks from the Government, CWI and ICC.

The event will take place at the historic site Umana Yana. It is a conical palm thatched hut established in August 1972 as a V.I.P. Lounge and recreation centre. The structure is made from thatched allibanna and manicole plam leaves and wallaba posts lashed together with mukru, turu and nibbi vines. The thatch has no nails. Umana Yana” is a Wai-Wai word meaning “Meeting place of the people”

The launch will be streamed live on /Facebook and persons can tune in for full coverage from 4 p.m.

The next stop will be St Lucia on Tuesday, February 20 and the three-country tour will end in Antigua and Barbuda on Friday, February 23.