ST JOHN’S, Antigua – West Indies Under-19 players Shimron Hetmyer and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph have been named in the 13-man WICB President’s XI squad, announced by the WICB Selection Panel.

Shimron Hetmyer who led the West Indies Under-19 World team to win the ICC Under-19 championship.

Shimron Hetmyer who led the West Indies Under-19 World Cup team to win the ICC Under-19 championship.

The team will face South Africa in a day/night 50-over match at Queen’s Park Oval on Sunday, May 29 at 1pm.

Hetmyer was the captain and Joseph the leading fast bowler in the West Indies Under-19 team which won the ICC Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh in February.

The WICB President’s XI will be led by Test opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite. The squad also includes left-hander Evin Lewis, who was a member of the West Indies team, which won the ICC World T20 in India last month.

Several other players with international experience have also been selected: batsmen Jermaine Blackwood, and Jason Mohammed; wicket-keeper Shane Dowrich; left-arm spinner Nikita Miller; and allrounder Rayad Emrit.

The Proteas are using the match as part of their preparations for the upcoming Tri Nation ODI Series, which also features West Indies and Australia.

Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain)
Shimron Hetmyer
Jermaine Blackwood
Damion Jacobs
Shane Dowrich
Jason Mohammed
Evin Lewis
Alzarri Joseph
Jon Russ Jaggesar
Andre McCarthy
Nikita Miller
Rayad Emrit
Delorn Johnson

Team Management
Graeme West (Manager/Coach)
Vasbert Drakes (Coach)
Oba Gulston (Physiotherapist)
Zephyrinus Nicholas (Strength and Conditioning Trainer)