The Finals of the 2010 American College Cricket Spring Break Championship took place Sunday March 21st when York College of New York faced York University of Toronto. Like the Semis the Finals was being webcast around the world by American College Cricket.

A victorious York University of Canada pose with officials and trophies after capturing the 2010 American College Cricket Championship. Photo by Daniela Zaharia, courtesy of American College Cricket.

The International Cricket Council carried the webcast on their website, as did and Other websites like Cricketworld, Nyyouthcricket and Libertycricket also did. Commentary was provided by Lenny Achaibar and Carl Bennett.

Both teams had won their Semi finals earlier in the day to earn their spot in the Finals. After more than 4 days of cricket these part time athletes has giving their all. Brian Edun, Goodwill Ambassador for American College Cricket, spun the toss as Head Umpire Steve Kalloo, Field Manager Danny Khan, captains Sourav of York University and Mohammed of York College looked on. American College Cricket President Lloyd Jodah and Vice President Nino DiLoreto observed.

York U won the toss and elected to bat, sending in their inform batsmen Jai Patel and Kushroo Wadia. Patel’s scores so far in the Championship included a fifty 53, 48, 44 and 37. Kushroo had already scored 78 and 38. Captain Sourav was taking the offensive early.
His batsmen proved themselves worthy by putting on 76 runs for the opening partnership, the 18 year old Jai Patel playing glorious cover drives to smash 7 fours in making 48. Patel was brilliantly caught by a diving wicketkeeper Akeem Dodson off Hugo D’Oliveira.

Kushroo Wadia made a well played 54 (6 fours) before he was run out with the score at 162. Wadia had batted nearly the entire innings. Raza Rahman made 35 before being caught by Dodson off Dhilawar Khan. York College’s Captain Mohammed Suleman bowled outstanding and took 3 wickets for 16 in 3 overs.

York University made a formidable total of 163 for their 20 overs, with the boundaries set at the full 72 yards.

The young York College team,started only in December, faced a challenge but with Akeem Dodson opening they stood a chance. Dodson had already made two 50’s,68 and 62 in the Championship so far. However Captain of York University Mahjuj Sourav tore through the York College batting with his medium pace, taking 4 for 19 in his 4 overs. It was a tremendous bowling performance, and together with Hasan Chogtai who took 2 wickets for 5 runs, and Ayaz Choudry 2 for 19 Sourav ensured York stood no chance. Dodson’s 19 runs was the top score. However the team had perfomed magnificently.

A huge mistake by a key Stadium employee shut down the lights and robbed the new Champions of the true taste of victory and an on field celebration. The Chanderpaul Trophy is going to Toronto.

The webcast was watched by thousands on their computers and television. Malls in Toronto, like Square One, put the game on their Jumbotron. Cricket had taken a giant leap forward in the USA and Canada, and College cricketers from the 20 participating teams did it.

Congratulations York University!