Bermuda, Canada, And USA Compete To Qualify For The U19 CWC In 2018

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the squads for the 2018 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup – Americas Qualifier 2017 to be held in Toronto, Canada from 17-23 July 2017.

Bermuda, Canada, and USA have announced their squads. The winner will compete in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in 2018.

Canada is looking forward to their role as host: “We are very excited with this opportunity.” stated Canada captain, Bhavindu Adhihetty, adding “Rise with the red!”

Bermuda and USA have been working hard to prepare for the tournament, arriving in Toronto as early as July 9. Bermuda captain, Nzari Paynter, states “I and the rest of the Bermuda U19 team are ready to make our mark on the international stage.”

The USA team captain, Arjun Patel, is excited about the opportunity to take on rivals Canada. “We’re looking forward to the tournament commencing tomorrow and are confident that our preparation has set us up to put our best foot forward as we look to qualify for the U19 Cricket World Cup. Both Canada and Bermuda are quality opposition and are equally capable of anything on their day, we will be ready to play from the first ball against Bermuda.”

The first round of matches will be played on 17 July at the Maple Leaf Cricket Club just outside Toronto. The team on top of the points table at the end of six matches will be declared the winner and will represent the Americas region at the U19 Cricket World Cup in 2018.

The squads:
Bermuda: Nzari Paynter (Captain), Dalin Richardson, Alje Richardson, Amori Simons, Cameron Jeffers, Jabari Darrell, Jaiden Manders, Q’Shai Darrell, Marcus Scotland, Jarryd Richardson, Nirobi Smith Mills, Ras Solomon Burrows, Rudi Butterfield, Tybrae Robinson

Canada: Bhavindu Adhihetty (Captain), Akashdeep Gill, Aran Pathmanathan, Arslan Khan, Ashtan Deosammy, Emanuel Khokhar, Faisal Jamkhandi, Kavian Naress, Krishen Samuel, Kunwarpal Chana, Pieter Pretorius, Pranav Sharma, Rishiv Joshi, Rommel Shahzad

USA: Arjun Patel (Captain), Mohak Buch, Vivek Narayan, Gaurav Patankar, Karthik Gattepalli, Sahil Patel, Sam Das, Sohan Bhat, Awais Muburak, Keshav Pabbisetty, Smit Doshi, Raymond Ramrattan, Aravind Patnam, Harish Easwarajah

Umpires: Emmerson Carrington, Harry Grewal, Sameer Bandekar

Tournament referee: Reon King

Fixture schedule
17 July – Bermuda vs. USA, Maple Leaf Cricket Club, 10:30 am start
18 July – USA vs. Canada, Maple Leaf Cricket Club, 10:30 am start
19 July – Bermuda vs. Canada, Maple Leaf Cricket Club, 10:30 am start
21 July – USA vs. Bermuda, Toronto Cricket Club, 10:30 am start
22 July – Bermuda vs. Canada, Maple Leaf Cricket Club, 10:30 am start
23 July – USA vs. Canada, Toronto Cricket Club, 10:30 am start