Bangladeshi Cricketers' Alliance of North America

Brooklyn Lycans Captures T30 Championship

New YorkNews September 24, 2021 admin

Brooklyn Lycans
Victorious Brooklyn Lycans poses with awards.

When they beat Team Lycans in the final, Brooklyn Lycans became the Champions of the Bangladeshi Cricketers’ Alliance of North America (BCANA) T30 Tournament 2021. The three-month-long season ended after both teams put up an intriguing show for the spectators at the Dr. Charles Drew Park on Saturday, September 18th, 2021.

What shaped up to be the season’s best contest with two arch-rivals clashing, Lycans did not disappoint the viewers as the game rolled on to the very last over.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, the openers of Team Lycans got off to a blistering start before the run race came to a halt by the Brooklyn Lycans spinners. The pressure got the better of the Team Lycans batsmen as they slowly folded for 130 runs in 29.1 overs, dramatically losing nine wickets for 47 runs towards the end. Tanvir Ahmed and Ismil Hossain scored 32 and 35 runs, respectively.

Team Lycans
Runners-up was Team Lycans.

Brooklyn Lycans’ Hasan quickly killed the innings with his second hat-trick of the season against the same opponent.

In response, Brooklyn Lycans had a shaky start, losing both openers for 23 runs on board. While wickets were falling at regular intervals, Jarif Akif anchored the innings with a mature knock that ensured the team had enough to get close to the total. The fans witnessed an exciting finish as Abdulla Khandaker of Brooklyn Lycans sent one soaring over the boundary when only a single run was required from the two remaining deliveries to seal victory for the team.

Jarif Akif of Brooklyn Lycans was the Man of the Final for his valuable 48 runs. Team Lycans’ skipper Ahsan Siddique Bahar was named the Most Valuable Player and the Best Batsman for amassing 472 runs and claiming 14 wickets. Moshiur Mishu of Predators was the Best Bowler for picking up 23 wickets. The Fair Play Award belonged to Mavericks.

The Champion Brooklyn Lycans took home a reward of USD 3,000 (sponsored by Abdul Kader Miah & LV Fashions), while the Runner-Up, Team Lycans, was rewarded with USD 1,500.00 (sponsored by Halal Xpress & BeTech). Renowned cricketer Suhrawadi Shuvro was assigned as neutral Match Official for the final game. The BCANA executives took the initiative to eliminate direct involvement of any particular party that could hinder the authenticity of the game played. The officiating umpires were Derrick Narine Sr. and Eddy Nichols Jr.

Bangladesh Cricketers Alliance of North America sponsors
Sponsors of Bangladeshi Cricketers’ Alliance of North America.

The BCANA 2021 post-match presentation included many renowned faces across the communities, including Mamunul Malik, the former president of BCANA. BCANA thanks all the guests, supporters, and sponsors who made the event a success. Amongst special guests, Abdul Kader Miah (Community Activist, President of Abdul Kader Miah Foundation); Asrab Ali Khan Liton (Owner of LV Fashions, LV Contracting); Tanvir H. Chaudhury Babu (CEO of Pro Teq World); Ajit Bhaskar (Club Director of USA Cricket); Ramesh Arunasalam (President of NYNCL); Anwar Hossain (President of Sandwip Sporting Club); Delwar Hossain; Ahmed Amin (CEO of AT&T Amsterdam Ave); Keron Rahim (Owner of ProDesign Renovation); Sumon Khan and Jashim (BPL Executives), and Thadkur Persaud (Umpire Coordinator) were present.

The sponsors were:- Abdul Kader Miah Foundation, LV Fashion, LV Contracting Solutions, Pro Teq World, Pro Design Renovation, AT&T Amsterdam Ave, Triage Tech Solutions, Sandwip Sporting Club, Delwar Hossain, Halal Xpress, BeTech.

Abdul-Kader and Mehraz-Masud
Mehraz Masud (right) presents Bangladeshi Cricketers’ Alliance of North America main sponsor Abdul Kader (center) with a token of appreciation as Anwar Hossain of Sandwip Sporting Club President looks on.

The BCANA organizing committee, Mehraz Masud, Faisal Rahaman, and Shamsul Shikder are grateful to all the teams, sponsors, and volunteers Asif, Sabbir, Fahim, Arman from different teams who stepped forward to ensure a successful finish to the tournament. In the BCANA 2021 T30 Tournament, participating teams consisted of NY Thunder Hawks, Brooklyn Lycans, Team Lycans, Gladiators, Sunrisers, Orbit, Noakhali Super XI, Predators, and Mavericks.

Editor’s Note: All teams and leagues are encouraged to submit match reports in essay format for publishing on this web site, and at no cost to the teams or leagues. Please submit your reports promptly, along with any necessary photographs, to