All rounder Lennox Cush is backing his team New York Destroyers to win the US Cricket Open championship this year.

Lennox Cush one of the many big names to participate in the tournament.

Cush who is making his debut in the series, said Destroyers has one of the strongest teams on paper, stating that they have a good blend of quality players.

Cush is the biggest name in the squad that comprises a number of Trinidad and Tobago nationals and regular team members, who helped make Destroyers one of the most accomplished T20 outfits in the United States.

“The guys will be hungry to win this competition as the stakes are high and the exposure will be a boost for the players’ future, he stated.

Just off a triumphant run with the Guyana team which won the West Indies T20 title, Cush pointed out that the presence of two foreign teams will had much substance to US Cricket Open, and it will give Destroyers added motivation to go for glory.

New York Destroyers will be boosted by three members of the Trinidad and Tobago team which placed second in the 2009 IPL Champions League in India. Darren Ganga, William Perkins, and Dave Mohamed will join Cush, former West Indies fast bowler Jermaine Lawson, Andrew Gonsalves, Kevin Darlington and Orlando Baker among others

Cush said he is fresh after a six month period of hectic competition representing Guyana and the United States national teams.

He was part of the Guyana team which contested the recently Airtel Champions League series in South Africa and feels energized and ready to do battle for New York Destroyers.

He will bring impressive credentials to the table for New York Destroyers from his T20 exploits in recent times including two hattricts with his off spin.  He is also the holder of the fastest century scored by an American in international 50 overs competition, a 55-ball ton against Italy this year in the ICC Division Four championship.

Cush will be among the featured names in the second staging of the US Cricket Open that has also attracted Guyana and West Indies star Ramnaresh Sarwan and India national players Irfan Pathan and Yousuf Pathan.

The competition, scheduled from December 3-5 is owned and organized by Cricket Council USA, a professional sports and entertainment management organization based in Boca Raton, Florida.

A first prize of $25,000 is stake for the winning team from a field 20 who will battle at the Central Broward County Regional Park Stadium and Brian Piccolo Park in Florida.

Sixersport Daredevils and Team Bradford Lions are the two overseas teams, coming out of England.
The 20 competing teams are: Washington Tigers, Team Bradford Lions, Florida Destroyers, Metropolitan Giants, Boom Boom CFCA Royals, Caribbean Stars, Pakistan Magic, US Tigers, New York Destroyers, Washington CC Lankans, MSCL Rebels, Sixersport Daredevils, SGCC Blues, Miami Thunder, US All Stars, New York Dodgers, Virginia Warriors, United Chargers, Boyd Wizards and 20 BDS Kings.