Tuesday, May 3, 2016: The Rockaway Group of Companies is pleased to announce the launch of the Rockaway T20 New York Cricket Fiesta – the return of exciting representative T20 cricket to the New York metropolitan area.

Tournament logo.

Tournament logo.

Following the ending of the New York Caribbean Cup in 2008, and the Red Stripe Cup prior to that, the Rockaway T20 is now set to bring back some of the cricket excitement to the New York area next month. The Rockaway T20 New York Cricket Fiesta will see some eight teams from representative countries showcasing some of the best players around in a series of matches leading up to the semi-finals and final  later this Fall. With a 1st prize of $7,000.00 and a 2nd prize of $3,000, plus incentive prizes for outstanding performances, the tournament is expected to attract some of the best cricketers in the New York area, and beyond.

The teams will be drawn from the traditional cricket playing nations of the Caribbean and South Asia. Each team is asked to pay a registration fee of $1500 to cover uniforms, grounds preparation, umpires, etc., and will have a Liaison person assigned to each squad, who will also sit on the tournament committee.

The T20 will kick off next month, and the schedule of matches and grounds will be announced as soon as the details have been finalized. In the interim, all participating teams are asked to make a registration deposit of $400. no later than May 16, 2016, and the remaining $1,100. by May 30, 2016, to be eligible to participate in the tournament.
Hafeez Ali, CEO of the Rockaway Group of Companies said, “I am excited to be a part of the relaunching of competitive and exciting T20 cricket in the New York area. We need it, and I am happy to be collaborating with a group of individuals and co-sponsors in this venture. It is our way of giving back something to our community, while having lots of fun doing so.”

The organizing committee comprises of Hafeez Ali, Ralph Tamesh, Joe Siewharack, John Aaron, Zamin Amin, Sam Soopersaud, Fitzroy Hayles, Steve Kalloo, Ravi Etwaroo, Bhola Ramsundar and Ajit Mootoo.

For more information contact Ralph Tamesh (516) 852-1459 or e-mail info.rockawayT20@yahoo.com or find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/RockawayT20Cricket/