Team Guyana has named a strong but youthful squad for the Roy Sweeney T20 Benefit Tournament scheduled for this Saturday, June 16 and Saturday, June 23 at Floyd Bennett Field, Brooklyn, NY.

Steve Massiah will lead the Guyana team in the Roy Sweeney Benefit Tournament. Photo: JLAaron

Six players with national experience have been selected, including former USA national captain Steve Massiah, who will be at the helm. Azurdeen Mohammed, Akeem Dodson, Clain Williams, Quasen Alfred, and veteran paceman Kevin Darlington complete the senior list.

Romeno Deane, Andre Kirton, and Karan Ganesh will bring their regional experience to the table. The squad is completed with familiar faces like Zaheer Saffie, Rocky Kowchai, Kaveshwar Bridgepaul, Ryan Gildharry, and newcomer Altaas Habibulla. Linden Fraser with serve as coach, alongside manager Iqbal Sheriff. Kerk Higgins and Debo Sankar served as selectors.

Guyana has adopted a progressive outlook in the current selection by allowing its more youthful talent to take on the responsibility of representing the South American nation. Guyana opens the challenge against Barbados at Floyd Bennett Field this Saturday, June 16th at 11:00 AM, while Trinidad and Tobago face Jamaica at 3:00 PM.

The winners will contest the finals on Saturday, June 23rd, preceded by a 10-overs All-Star Celebrity encounter at 10:00 AM at Floyd Bennett.

Come out and support this effort in honor of Roy Sweeney, an avid cricket promoter in the New York metropolitan area. Many will remember the 2006 West Indies tour at Floyd Bennett which featured Brian Charles Lara and a full West Indies Super Stars line-up. Mr. Sweeney is currently ailing and everyone is encouraged to support this worthy cause.

Full Squad: Steve Massiah- Capt. (United Sports CWL), Azurdeen Mohammed, Rocky Kowchai (MMZ EACA), Akeem Dodson (Sheffield BCL), Clain Williams, Zaheer Saffie (Big Apple EACA), Quasen Alfred (Liberty MCL), Kevin Darlington (Bedessee/Pioneer MCL), Romeno Deane (Diplomats BCL), Andre Kirton (Middlesex BCL), Karan Ganesh (Everest/ACS EACA),  Kaveshwar Bridgepaul (Atlantis EACA), Altaas Habibulla (Hillside EACA), and Ryan Gildharry (Galaxy, CWL). Linden Fraser (coach), Iqbal Sheriff (manager), and Kirk Higgins and Debo Sankar (selectors).