ICC Names 30-Man Squad for Road to LA Camp ICC Names 30-Man Squad for Road to LA Camp

By John L. Aaron
The International Cricket Council (ICC) through its ICC Americas office, today announced a 30-man USA Senior Men squad of players, in preparation for an integrated Road to LA Camp training exercise during the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) series of matches in Lauderhill, Florida, at the end of this month.

The Road to LA Camp is a preparation exercise in anticipation of the selection of a finite squad to represent the USA at the ICC World Cricket League Division 4 scheduled for Los Angeles this October-November.

The media release under the signatures of Ricardo Powell, Chairman of the USA Selectors and Tom Evans, Cricket Manager, ICC Americas, congratulated those players selected from the USA Cricket Combine which culminated a few weeks ago in New York, and acknowledged the application and abilities of the very talented players, while encouraging them to continue improving upon the process of hard work.

With the exception of a few players who previously represented the USA, all of the cricketers participated in this year’s USA Cricket Combine exercise. The release said, the players “have a fantastic opportunity to do something special for USA Cricket over the next 3 – 5 years, and it starts with the Road to LA Camp, in Florida.”

Florida Camp Outline
July 27: Players arrive evening
July 28: Squad meeting, training, some players with CPL Franchise for match experience
July 29: PR Media session, 12 players to play vs CPL Combined XI, some players with CPL Franchise for match experience
July 30: Training, some players with CPL Franchise for match experience
July 31: Training, some players with CPL Franchise for match experience
Aug 1: Squad 50 Over Trial Match
Aug 2: Squad 50 Over Trial Match
Aug 3: Squad 40 Over Trial Match, players return home evening

The 30-man squad is:
Adil Bhatti, Akeem Dodson, Alex Amsterdam, Amanjot Lobana, Arjun Thyagarajan, Danial Ahmed, David Pieters, Davion Davidson, Elmore Hutchinson, Fahad Babar, Francis Mendonca, Hammad Shahid, Japen Patel, Jasdeep Singh, Keon Lake, Muhammad Ahsan Ali Khan, Muhammad Asad Ghous, Naseer Jamali, Nicholas Standford, Nosthush Kenjige, Nisarg Patel, Prashanth Nair, Ravi Timbawala, Saqib Saleem, Shiva Vashishat, Srini Santhanam, Steven Taylor, Timil Patel, Timroy Allen and Usman Rafiq.

In a letter sent to each of the selected players, Powell and Evans noted, “The USA Selection Panel had some very difficult decisions to make given the talent that has been assessed to date across the country. We believe that with hard work and solid preparation, the selected squad is best placed to maximize USA National team performance. Whilst this squad of 30 players has been highlighted in the short-term, it is important to note that the squad is not exclusive—players may be added or removed in the future, as deemed appropriate by the Selection Panel.”

The Florida Road to LA Camp July 27 – August 3, 2016, will provide a platform for those players selected, to be assessed, and further selection decisions to be made by the Selection Panel appointed by the ICC Americas office.