2012 NYPD Under-19 Cricket
The New York Police Department (NYPD) Under-19 Cricket League sponsored by Police Commissioner Mr. Raymond Kelly got under way last Tuesday at Gateway Park. The commissioner was on hand to open this year competition in which twelve teams from around New York City will vie for the Police Commissioner Trophy.

Meten Meer Zorg Superstars team.

The Meten Meer Zorg (MMZ) Superstars has so far participated in all five of the tournament, they went to the final three years in a row and won the competition in 2010 under USA player Azurdeen Mohammed and NYR player Kavishwar Bridgepaul.  The Superstars is coach by former Guyana Under-19 wicket keeper Ajaz Asgarally and is captain by USA under-19 player Amarnauth Persaud with former USA under-15 player Trevis Ross as his deputy.

The Superstars won the toss against the Night Owls and elected to bat first on a very hot summer day at Kissena Park and found themselves in early trouble losing Trevis Ross after hitting the pacer for a six trying to repeat the shot only to hold out to long off. Clifford Hamilton playing in his second year for the Superstars anchored the innings as wickets was falling like ripe mangoes.

Skipper Amarnauth Persaud went for 10, new player Brandon Boodoo for 6, Danraj Hansraj for 4 and Imdad Khan for a golden duck, score was 41 for 5 off 8 overs at that stage, as it was another newcomer in the Superstars team Dino Choo-Wee-Nam who came to the rescue of his team, he batted well with Hamilton before Hamilton was out bowled for a well played 22. In walked the talented Rayhanul Islam to the crease and the pair put on a century partnership with both youngsters hitting the ball to all parts of the field. Dino made 45 with 4×6 and 2×4 and Islam 44 with 4×6 and 2×4 to see the Superstars reached 161 off their 20 overs.

Meten Meer Zorg Superstars coach Ajaz Asgarally (right) with New York Police Commissioner Ray Kelly.

Syed Hussain a former Superstars player was the pick of the Night Owls bowler with 4 for 25 off his 4 overs.

The Owls begin their reply with Hasif and Khan opening, it was the young Anwer Kamal and Rahannul Islam who opened up the attack for the Superstars, Khan was first to go, bowled by Anwer for 3, then in came Syed Hussain playing against his old mates didn’t spare his friends hitting 3 towering sixes before he was out trying a fourth and was brilliantly caught by Danraj. It was all over for the Owls as wickets fell at regular interval.

New boy from the Bronx, Anwer Hussain playing his first season bowled with good pace and control finish with 2 for 25 off his 4 overs, Wazim Shaw and Dino cleaned up the rest of the Night Owl batsmen, with figures of 4-13-1 and 4-14-2 respectively.

The Superstars takes on Krypton Knights at Kissena on Thursday July 5th for a 12 noon start then on Monday July 9th at Baisley Park  (150 and Rockaway ) to play against Brooklyn Knights in round 3 schedule at  12 noon.

MMZ Superstars full Squad is: Amarnauth Persaud (capt), Trevis Ross (v/capt), Clifford Hamilton, Danraj Hansraj, Wazim Shaw, Brandon Boodoo, Rocky Kowchai, Rayhanul Islam, Imdad Khan, Dino Choo-Wee- Nam, Robin Ramasami, Anwer Hussain, Inzamam Khan, Michael Katwaroo,  Anwer Kamal,  Steven Chetram, Nadeem Asgarally, Syed Omar, Nyad Asgarally, Zahid Omar, Ajaz Asgarally (coach) , Andy Mohammed (Asst Coach), Fiaz Asgarally(Manager) and Zaaid Majeed (Asst Manager).