The Minor League Cricket Pacific Conference was alive with excitement as two formidable teams, Lone Star Athletics and Michigan Cricket Stars, clashed at the Moosa Stadium in a thrilling Twenty20 encounter on February 9, 2023.

Michigan Cricket Stars, led by their captain, Zeeshan Maqsood, won the toss and elected to bowl first, hoping to capitalize on the pitch conditions.

Zeeshan Maqsood (left) and Muhammad Kamal were the stars of the game scoring 43 and picking up 4 wickets respectively. Photos courtesy of

The Lone Star Athletics team started cautiously, but their opening batsman, Shayan Jahangir, fell early, caught behind the stumps by Ali Nasir off the bowling of Muhammad Kamal. However, Nitish Kumar and Milind Kumar steadied the innings with a partnership that showed promise. They played some delightful strokes, and Milind Kumar’s aggressive 25 off 14 balls added impetus to the innings.

Shubham Ranjane was the anchor for Lone Star Athletics, scoring a patient 31 off 38 balls. But the Michigan Cricket Stars bowlers, particularly Muhammad Kamal, Akhil Kumar, and Abul Hasan Raju, kept the pressure on with timely wickets.

In the end, Lone Star Athletics managed to post a total of 119/9 in their 20 overs. Muhammad Kamal was the star with the ball for Michigan Cricket Stars, taking 4 crucial wickets for just 24 runs.

Michigan Cricket Stars, in pursuit of the target, had a shaky start. Nicholas Kirton and Rizwan Cheema fell quickly to the bowling of Milind Kumar and Imran Khan Jr. However, Raza Ali Dar and Zeeshan Maqsood steadied the ship with a crucial partnership. Zeeshan Maqsood was particularly impressive, scoring 43 runs off 31 balls, including five boundaries and two sixes.

Lone Star Athletics fought back with a run-out, dismissing Zeeshan Maqsood, but Mohammad Mohsin and Waqas Saleem held their nerves and guided their team to victory. Michigan Cricket Stars achieved the target of 120 runs with 6 wickets in hand and 3 overs to spare.

Zeeshan Maqsood, for his all-around performance, was named the “Man of the Match.”

In the end, it was Michigan Cricket Stars who emerged victorious in this exciting contest, showcasing their skills and teamwork.