On Saturday May 7, 2016, the Brooklyn Cricket League (BCL) commenced it eightieth season with a kick off match between a President’s eleven team and 2015 champions Cavaliers Cricket Club.  After winning the toss and deciding to take first strike Cavaliers Cricket Club under the captaincy of Dinesh Ruplall was skittled out for a mere 113 runs off 22 overs.  Top scoring for Cavaliers was S. Nolan (26) runs and Tomas Singh (17 not out).

The victorious Brooklyn Cricket League President's Eleven team. Photo by Rawle Jackman

The victorious Brooklyn Cricket League President’s Eleven team. Photo by Rawle Jackman

Bowling for the President’s eleven Romario Neil (Diplomats Sports Club) finished with an impressive figure of 6 wickets for 29 runs, earning him the title of best bowler and MVP of the match.  Chandarpal Roopnarine with 2 wickets for 28 runs made staying at the crease difficult for the Cavaliers batsman.

In reply the President’s eleven captained by Rod Michael (Middlesex Cricket Club) produced a captain’s performance scoring 29 not out and Chandarpal Roopnarine 15 not out contributed to the President’s eleven team  reaching the winning total of 114 for six off 22 overs.  The President’s eleven winning by four wickets.

At the conclusion of the game, there was a presentation ceremony at which 80th anniversary BCL medals were given to the players by the Vice President and Treasurer and the President’s eleven trophy presented to captain Rod Michael.  Best bowler and MVP trophies were awarded to Romario Neil while the best batsman trophy was awarded to Rod Michael.

Numerous BCL members and supporters were on hand to mark the opening game of the 80th BCL season. Refreshments were then served to players and supporters concluding a wonderful afternoon of cricket with equally wonderful weather.  Master of ceremonies for the presentation ceremony was President of the BCL, Mr. John Wilson.