Big 10 Rivals Ohio State University and Purdue University clashed this weekend – in cricket. In an exciting match on the OSU cricket field, on the Buckeyes’ campus the 2 high octane teams got to the Finals of the American College Cricket Midwest Championship with sparkling displays of batting, bowling and fielding.

OSU President E Gordon Gee and MVP Romel Somavat.

Cricket clubs from Ohio State University, Purdue University, Michigan State University, College of Wooster, Carnegie Mellon University, University of Iowa, and Indiana University battled at Emerald Fields and Rhodes Park in Columbus, Ohio and finally on the Buckeyes campus’ cricket field to determine the 2 Finalists.

E. Gordon Gee, President of Ohio State University, was present Sunday after watching the Buckeyes decimate E Illinois in the football game on Saturday. The Champions of the American College Cricket Midwest Championship, which included 5 Big 10 schools, would receive the “E. Gordon Gee Trophy”. President Gee said it was “an honor to have the trophy carry my name and I’m very happy to be here”.

Wooster vs Michigan State
Fighting Scots, Wooster lost all their wickets for 97 runs – not a big score, in 19.5 overs. Michigan State played calmly and took the win against Wooster, scoring 98 for the loss of only 2 wickets after 17 overs. Kashi scored 37 not out in 39 balls.

University of Iowa vs Carnegie Mellon
Carnegie Mellow showed their bowling strength – getting Iowa out for only 81. The Hawkeyes retaliated by having Carnegie Mellon reeling at 34 for 5 after 10 overs then bowled out Carnegie Mellon for 62! Iowa won!

Carnegie Mellon vs Wooster:
Carnegie Mellon & College of Wooster took the field in another installment of their rivalry begun in 2009.Carnegie Mellon scored 135 in their 20 overs.
A good total, but reachable by the Wooster team, but CMU bowled out Wooster for 98 ! Carnegie Mellon University – one of  the pioneering American College Cricket teams of 2009, when it was led by Atishe Chordia – won by 37 runs !

Ohio State vs Indiana University
Led by their Captain Romel Somavat, the Buckeyes stormed to a victory against the Indiana University Cricket Club! First the Hoosiers were bowled out for 97 runs, in 19.5 overs. Then Somavat blasted 55 not out, off just 30 balls. Manan contributed 28* in 32 balls as OSU got the win in just 10.2 overs!

Iowa vs Purdue:
The Hawkeyes won the toss and elected to field .Their decision looked like a good one when they got the Purdue Captain early .However, with Srikar, Faraz Arif handled the bowlers elegantly scoring runs in singles first and opening up later. At the 10 over mark it was 60 for 1wicket. Faraz then took apart the Iowa bowling attack.

Purdue University Cricket Club.

Faraz fell after a well made 67 in the 16th over with Purdue’s score on 112 – caught at long on. With 4 overs to go, Srikar smashed the score to 154 in 20 overs, remaining not out on 55.

Iowa began well scoring 22 off their first three overs, but then Purdue struck back led by their experienced bowlers – Saumyang and Adeel. Getting the Iowa Captain first, they slowly choked out the middle order. Iowa kept fighting and reached a score of 64 after 10 overs, but having lost 5 wickets, the chase was going to be tough. Having sniffed victory, Purdue spinners quickly moved in for the kill getting Iowa all out for 71.

Indiana University vs Purdue:
Faraz Arif Iyoob started from where he left off in the previous match scoring runs at will. Indiana University struck back dismissing Saumyang with a good catch at point. Bharath and Satadru played good supporting roles, but it was one-man show as Faraz took the opposition bowlers to the cleaners reaching 50 in the 7th over. He kept going reaching 116 in 14 overs – with team score on 154 when he took himself out of the game to rest before the big final.

Mihir picked up the mantle from Faraz and scored 54 effortlessly in 27 balls to take the team score to 226 in 20 overs and a seat in the finals secured. As usual for the Boilermakers there was good bowling from Abhijeet, Abhisek and Adeel restricting Indiana to a score of 91/9 in 20 overs and Purdue steamrolled into the finals of first Midwest College cricket championship.

Michigan State vs Ohio State:
Michigan State Cricket Club won the toss and sent OSU into bat. After 5 overs Buckeyes were 37 without loss. The in form Romel Somavat was going strong. After 10 overs Ohio State CC was 77 with no wickets lost!
After 15 overs Somavat had hit 7 sixes! OSU were now 153 for 1 wicket! They went on to score 204 for 5 in 20 overs. Somavat missed a century when he got out for a smashing 97 (7 sixes, 5 fours)!
Having to make 205 runs to win, Michigan State struggled and was 46 for 4 after 10 overs, then all out for 109! Buckeyes through to the Finals, to face Purdue!

FINALS – Ohio State Buckeyes vs. Purdue Boilermakers
Having already made it to the finals, Purdue witnessed Ohio decimate Michigan State University in the virtual semi-final to set up a clash with its long time rivals. Purdue started well with Adeel getting the first breakthrough. Then Purdue’s electric fielding resulted in two more quick wickets – Abhijeet scoring a direct hit from mid-off and then taking a well judged catch. With OSU captain Somavat still standing things could have changed – But Prashanth came up with a brilliant diving catch at point to dismiss Somavat and OSU was reeling at 28/5 after 8 overs. A fight back from Rohit and Anupam led the OSU recovery, but four wickets by Abhijeet ensured that OSU were all out for 96 in 20 overs.

Chasing 97, Purdue were dealt a big blow in the very first over with the centurion of previous game Faraz run out on 1. Saumyang was dismissed by Somavat who then took another, leaving the match in balance with Purdue at 43/3 after 9 overs.
A good partnership between Srikar and Mihir took Purdue to 82/3 in 15 overs when Srikar fell. Mihir remained unbeaten and ensured that Purdue won the E. Gordon Gee Trophy and emerged as the champions of the first American College Cricket Midwest Championship.

As OSU President E Gordon Gee said, “It’s great to have Big 10 schools competing in another sport-cricket.”

Romel Somavat OSU was declared the Championship MVP for his batting, bowling and captaincy, receiving the BIG League USA Award.