On June 23, approximately 60 girls and boys from the New York City Public Schools Athletic League (PSAL) will compete in the second annual NYC Mayor’s Cup Cricket All-Star Games.

Troy Mars (left) and Amarnauth Persaud will lead Queens Team 1 and 2 respectively. Photos by Shiek Mohamed

The top high school student cricket players from across the City will play in Saturday’s games, with the winner to be named the “Best in the City.” The Championship Game will take place on Saturday, June 23, at 4pm, at Spring Creek Park Cricket Field, 355 Gateway Drive, Brooklyn.

The NYC Mayor’s Cup series, which encompasses a variety of sports events throughout the year, is produced by NYC & Company, the City’s marketing, tourism and partnership organization. For the 2012 NYC Mayor’s Cup Cricket All-Star Games, the United States of America Cricket Association (USACA) has donated jerseys to all of the participating athletes and coaches. For more information on the NYC Mayor’s Cup series and for a complete schedule of events, visit facebook.com/nycmayorscup.


Bronx/Manhattan Team

Player School
Ibrahim Ali Herbert Lehman
Shyam Bhatt Bronx HS Science
Asfaque Chowdhury (Captain) DeWitt Clinton
Zahid Hasan Herbert Lehman
Irfan Hoque Stuyvesant
Shaheed Hoque Stuyvesant
Amjad Hussain Herbert Lehman
Syed Islam DeWitt Clinton
Rezvee Karim Bronx HS Science
Asmar Khan DeWitt Clinton
Taher Miah DeWitt Clinton
Shahriar Rahman Herbert Lehman
Prasenjit Saha Bronx HS Science
Vinit Shah Stuyvesant
Coach: Nigel Thompson (Herbert Lehman)
Coach: Raymond Ramirez (DeWitt Clinton)








Brooklyn Team

Player School
Shahyar Asghar Lafayette Ed. Complex
Muhammad Awais Midwood
Naquarn Charlemagne Prospect Heights
Alex Chattergoon Franklin K. Lane
Akramol Haque Brooklyn International
Mohammad Hussain Sheepshead Bay
Mohaiminul Islam FDR
Gavindra Jainarine Franklin K. Lane
Bilal Khan Abraham Lincoln
Tanveer Khan Midwood
Masum Parvez Sheepshead Bay
Fahad Riaz Abraham Lincoln
Zahib Tariq (Captain) FDR
Abrar Zafar FDR
Coach: Gregory Fisher (FDR)
Coach: Lal Saitram
 (Abraham Lincoln)

Queens Team #1

Player School
Yasin Arafat Richmond Hill
Brandon Boodhoo Richmond Hill
Chandrika Hoolas Richmond Hill
Rahad Hossain Hillcrest
Tariq Mahmood Jamaica
Troy Mars (Captain) John Adams
Vijendra Mohabir Hillcrest
Safa Nazar Jamaica
Keifer Phil HS of Construction
Deoram Puran Queens HS of Teaching
Ahsan Riaz Hillcrest
Mohammed Sadat John Bowne
Gurbhej Singh Queens HS of Teaching
Randall Wilson John Adams
Zafaar Yusuf John Adams
Coach: Hunter Brett (Hillcrest)
Coach: Alex Navarrete (John Adams)

Queens Team #2

Player School
Bashir Abdullah Newcomers
Nikunj Agarwal Thomas Edison
Humza Ahmad Aviation
Mojeeb Ahmed Newcomers
Aown Iqbal William Bryant
MD Islam Long Island City
Rolex Kapali Aviation
Redwanur Khan Long Island City
Abhishek Patel Martin Van Buren
Amarnauth Persaud (Captain) Martin Van Buren
Sajib Salam Long Island City
Muhammed Siddiqui William Bryant
Tajinder Singh Martin Van Buren
Ahmad Wyne Long Island City
Coach: Wesley Henry (Aviation)
Coach: Glyne Hurley (Martin Van Buren)

DATE: Saturday, June 23, 2012

TIME: 10am: Queens Team #1 vs. Queens Team #2
1pm: Bronx/Manhattan vs. Brooklyn
4pm: Championship Game
7pm: Awards Ceremony

Venue: Spring Creek Park Cricket Field (Across from Boulder Creek Steakhouse), 355 Gateway Drive, Brooklyn.