Uganda has triumphed over Rwanda by nine wickets, securing a coveted top-two position in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier and, a spot in the prestigious ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and West Indies. This marks Uganda’s inaugural participation in a senior ICC World Cup.

Namibia, emerging alongside Uganda from the Africa qualifier, will also partake in the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, boasting a lineup of 20 teams for the very first time.

Uganda cricket team
Uganda celebrates during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier. Photo courtesy of ICC

The confirmed list of teams qualifying for the event includes Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Uganda, the United States of America (USA), and West Indies.

Prior to today’s historic victory, Uganda had already secured triumphs in four out of their five fixtures, prevailing over Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, and Kenya. Their lone setback occurred against co-qualifiers Namibia, who have maintained an unblemished record throughout the tournament.

In the crucial encounter against Rwanda, Uganda’s Alpesh Ramjani, Brian Masaba, Henry Ssenyondo, and Dinesh Nakrani each claimed two wickets, restricting their opponents to a mere 65 runs in 18.5 overs after opting to bowl first.

Uganda efficiently chased down their target in 8.1 overs with a comfortable 71 balls to spare, courtesy of commendable batting performances by Simon Ssesazi (26 from 21 deliveries), Ronak Patel (18 off 20), and Roger Mukasa (13 off 8).

This edition of the Men’s T20 World Cup will witness the participation of 20 teams, organized into four groups of five. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super Eight phase, where the remaining teams will be divided into two groups of four. The top two from each group will then advance to the semi-finals, culminating in the highly anticipated final showdown.