In the morning game played at the CBRP Stadium, the Cayman Islands won the toss and elected to field in glorious sunshine. Suriname was restricted to 95 runs from 19.5 overs with M. Boodhram (14), V. Singh (14), S. Drepaul (12) and V. Shaw (11). Kevin Bazil took 3-9 from 4 overs in the Suriname innings and Z. McLaughlin sealed victory with a polished 37 from 52 balls and full points to the Cayman Islands.

Bhim George led the USA bowling with figures of 5 for 9 in 4 overs. Photo by Shiek Mohamed

In the 2nd game of the day the USA continued their winning streak with a victory over Argentina by 66 runs. Batting first after winning the toss the Americans amassed 150 from 20 overs with A. Mishra (41) from 27 balls and G. Roopnarine (40) from 37 balls. A. Tissera, was the Argentines best bowler with 3- 16 from 3 overs and G. Savage had 3- 21 from 4 overs.

In reply Argentina managed only 84 Runs for 6 wickets from the allotted 20 overs. Ferguson (17), Savage (16*), Irigoyen (14*) Precious (13) and Williams (11), while Bhim George lead the USA bowling with 5/9 in 4 overs.

In the match of the day Bermuda won the toss and elected to bat and soon found themselves in trouble at 2 -5 mid ways through the 2nd over. Bowled by leg spinner J. Siddiqui, with the inform Cann bowled behind his legs for 1, and Crockwell bowled without scoring.

Things never got any better and Bermuda finished on for 79/9 thanks to a 43 run 9th wicket partnership between M. Jones 29 n/o, and J. Gilbert 30 bowled of the last ball of the innings, Siddiqui 3/20, Broadhurst 3/8, and Hussain 2/5 kept the pressure firmly on the Bermudian batsmen.

In Canada‘s reply of 40/1 in 7.3 overs, it was cut short by the usual thunderstorms that have plagued the tournament all week. This resulted in Canada winning by 15 runs D/L method.

Today will be the tournament rest day and Friday, July 22, 2011 will see Suriname take on Argentina in the morning, Bermuda against the Cayman Islands in the afternoon and feature the two undefeated teams of Canada and the USA in the day-night match.

Article courtesy of ICC.