ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers

USA Cricket Invite 30 Players For Training Camp in California

News June 19, 2019 admin

abdullah syed
Abdullah Syed of New York. Photo by Shiek Mohamed

USA Cricket today announced the group of players that will make up the extended Team USA squad for a Selection Camp to be held this week in Los Angeles ahead of what is a huge period of Twenty20 International cricket for the U.S. Men’s National Team in 2019.

Team USA will be looking to take one of the two qualification places available from the ICC Americas Regional Qualifier that will be held in August 2019 in Bermuda with USA coming up against the hosts Bermuda, Canada and the Cayman Islands. The top two teams in August will advance to the ICC T20 World Cup Global Qualifier in UAE in October 2019 where the six final teams will be decided for the ICC T20 World Cup, 2020 in Australia.

An extended group of 30 talented cricketers have been invited by the Selection Committee to attend a selection camp to be held in Los Angeles from June 20-25, 2019. Invited players will be demonstrating their cricketing skills, fitness and commitment to the selection process for Team USA Men’s National Team.

It has already been a most historic year for cricket in America with the admission of USA Cricket as the 105th Member of the ICC, the Team USA men competing in two historic first Twenty20 Internationals in the UAE in March followed by a successful ICC World Cricket League Division 2 campaign which saw USA gain One Day International status for the first time ever and with it progression to the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and finally the Women’s National Team recently won their ICC Americas Qualifier which grants them entry into both a T20 global qualifier later this year as well as a global 50 over qualifier in 2020.

timroy allen
Timroy Allen has represented team USA on many occasions. Photo by Shiek Mohamed

Ricardo Powell, Chairman of Selectors for USA Cricket said: “We are very satisfied with what has been an excellent year on the pitch so far for Team USA. Despite the success of gaining ODI Status, we really need to get a strong training camp this week, where the firm focus will be on T20 cricket. This training camp will have a wider group around the squad to ensure that we can assess all options for the final Team USA squad for the crucial next step in the qualification process which is now less than two months away.”

USA Cricket Head Coach, Pubudu Dassanayake, who will be leading the Training Camp sessions in LA said, “I have been pleased with our progress as a squad across all disciplines, particularly over the last 18 months or so. When we sealed our ODI status, we achieved what was our main goal for 2019 in 50 Overs cricket, but all of our preparations now have switched to the T20 format. We have identified several skills that we are looking for in our players. We feel these will be crucial for firstly the ICC Americas Qualifier, which we hope to progress from onwards into the T20 World Cup Global Qualifier in the UAE to get a chance to bring Team USA back to a global event in Australia 2020.”

Players will begin arriving in Los Angeles on Thursday for a series of training sessions and matches from Friday to be held at Woodley Park.

The players invited to compete are as follows:
Aaron Jones (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Akshay Homraj (Galaxy Cricket Club, eastern American Cricket League)
Ali Samad (DYCL Knights, Dallas Cricket League)
Cameron Steel (England/USA)
Elmore Hutchinson (Caribbean CC, Southern California Cricket League)
Hayden Walsh Jnr. (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Jasdeep Singh (Smashers Cricket Club, Cricket League of New Jersey)
Jaskaran Malhotra (Triggers Cricket Club, Houston Cricket League)
Ian Holland (England/USA)
Karima Gore (Antigua/USA)
Kyle Phillip (Florida Cricket Academy, South Florida Premier Cricket League Inc.)
Monank Patel (Freedom Cricket Club, Cricket League of New Jersey)
Muhammad Ali Khan (Ohio All Stars, Unity Cup)
Nisarg Patel (Vijayta CC, Southern California Cricket League)
Nosthush Kenjige (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Roy Silva (Covington Conyers, Atlanta GA Cricket Conference)
Rusty Theron (Potomac Cricket Club, Washington Cricket League)
Sagar Patel (Indian Lions, ArkTenn Cricket League)
Sahaj Patel (Hollywood 1 Cricket Club, Southern California Cricket League)
Saurabh Netravalkar (Marin 1, Northern California Cricket Association)
Shaheer Hassan (Rogers Park Cricket Cricket Club, Midwest Cricket Conference)
Srinivas Raghaven (San Diego2 CC, Southern California Cricket League)
Srinivas Salver (Vijayta CC, Southern California Cricket League)
Steven Taylor (Sheffield Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Syed Abdullah (Sheffield Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan League)
Timil Patel (Vijayta CC, Southern California Cricket League)
Timroy Allen (Strykers Cricket Club, Florida Cricket Conference)
Usman Ashraf (Cavaliers, Millennium Cricket League)
Vikash Mohan (Trinidad/USA)
Xavier Marshall (Villagers Sports Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)