USA Cricket Name 26 Players For Under 19 National Training Group USA Cricket Name 26 Players For Under 19 National Training Group

USA Cricket is pleased to announce a 26-player USA Men’s Under 19 National Training Group after the conclusion of a hugely successful Men’s Under 19 National Championships where the Mid-Atlantic Zone were crowned as the National Champions after 16 matches involving 112 young cricketers from all across America.

The National Youth Selection Panel have chosen these 26 players as the standouts from that event to give Head Coach, Kevin Darlington the opportunity to work with the best young players over the next few months. The best of this extended group will go on to be selected for the USA Under 19 Men’s side that will seek to qualify for the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup via the ICC Americas’ Regional Qualifier later this year.

Many of the leading performers, including the three individual award winners from the National Championship, are included in the squad. At the tournament there were nearly 6,000 runs scored, more than 225 wickets taken and over 100 catches held across 16 matches that were keenly contested by all 8 teams, 7 of which have players named in the Training Group. The turf wickets and facilities at the Prairie View Cricket Complex provided a superb venue for a fantastic tournament full of talented players who gave a glimpse into potential success of USA Cricket National Teams of the future.
The planning for this Men’s Under 19s Training Group has begun, including the finalization of specific preparation plans for the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, and there will be a further announcement with more details in the coming weeks.

USA Cricket Chair of National Youth Selectors, Amer Afzaluddin commented, “After such a wonderful event in Texas our Men’s Under 19 Selection Panel had plenty to consider whilst choosing this initial group of 26 young cricketers in contention to represent USA Men’s Under 19s this summer. The selection panel would like to congratulate all of those players and also note just how incredibly strong the competition and cricket was at the Under 19 Men’s National Championships. We are looking forward now to working closely with this group to build the strongest possible side to represent the USA at the critical U19 World Cup Qualifier.”

USA Cricket Operations Director, Richard Done, said, “Today’s announcement of the Men’s U19 Training Group is an important step in driving our young men towards the ultimate goal of qualification to the 2022 Men’s Under 19 World Cup and getting the United States back onto the global stage. Many of those who gathered in Houston for the U19 Men’s National Championship judged the standard of cricket on show as some of the best youth cricket ever seen in the United States, and this made the selection of this Group a particularly difficult one. We are enthused by the potential in this group of young cricketers and will ensure we give them the opportunity now to come together as a group and build towards the rest of the summer.

We have now named National Training Groups for the Senior Men’s, Senior Women’s, Women’s Under 19s and now the Men’s Under 19s to round out a full house of Training Groups named by USA Cricket. We will have an announcement with further details of the next training and playing opportunities for this Men’s Under 19s Training Group as soon as possible.

Training Group:

Aakashveer SainiWest Zone Blues
Abhiram BolisettySouth Zone
Abhiram ValisammagariSouth West Zone
Aditya GuptaSouth Zone
Ajay ImmadiWest Zone Reds
Ali SheikhSouth West Zone
Elton Tucker Jr.South Zone
Gautham RavindranColts
Hisham AliColts
Ishan SharmaMid-Atlantic Zone
Kanish BhallWest Zone Reds
Laksh ParikhSouth West Zone
Mihir CherukupalliSouth West Zone
Mohamed ShawEast Zone
Rehman DarSouth West Zone
Rishi RameshColts
Ritwik BeheraMid-Atlantic Zone
Rohan PhadkeSouth Zone
Rohan PosanipallyWest Zone Reds
Saiteja MukkamallaMid-Atlantic Zone
Sanjay KrishnamurthyWest Zone Reds
Skanda Rohit SharmaWest Zone Reds
Slade-Lee Van StadenColts
Soorya SelvakumarSouth West Zone
Tejas VisalMidwest Zone
Yasir MohammadMid-Atlantic Zone