USA Women’s Under-19 squad.

USA Cricket is honored to announce the 15-player squad that will represent the United States of America in the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup that gets underway in South Africa next month. The squad is captained by Geetika Kodali, and the coaching team is led by Shivnarine Chanderpaul with the USA facing a challenging Group A that features Australia, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

The 15-player squad named today by the USA Women’s U19 National Selection Panel is accompanied by five non-traveling reserves who will be on stand-by in case of any replacements being required. 14 of the 15 players that recently toured the United Arab Emirates have been selected, with Taranum Chopra being the addition to that squad.

This ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup is the first-ever edition of what will be a biennial World Cup for the best young female cricketers around the world. Eleven ICC Full-Member nations gained automatic entry to the event: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe. The remaining five spots were filled by one team from each of the ICC’s five regions.

Women’s Head Coach, Shivnarine Chanderpaul said, “After a brilliant tour of Dubai, we are focusing on final preparations for this historic World Cup for the players and for the USA. We showed throughout the year the kind of cricket that we can play. World Cups are incredibly special and we are really looking forward to representing the country on this fantastic platform.”

Team USA Women’s U19 Squad:
Geetika Kodali (Captain)
Anika Kolan (WK) (Vice Captain)
Aditi Chudasama
Bhumika Bhadriraju
Disha Dhingra
Isani Vaghela
Jivana Aras
Laasya Mullapudi
Pooja Ganesh (WK)
Pooja Shah
Ritu Singh
Sai Tanmayi Eyyunni
Snigdha Paul
Suhani Thadani
Taranum Chopra

Chetnaa Prasad
Kasturi Vedantham
Lisa Ramjit
Mitali Patwardhan
Tya Gonsalves

Head Coach: Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Team Manager: John Aaron
Team Analyst: Rohaan Gosala
S&C/Assistant Coach: Burt Cockley
Physio/Medical: Dr. Audrey Adams
Assistant Team Manager: Joan Alexander-Serrano

Selection Panel: Ritesh Kadu (Interim Chair), Jyotsna Patel, Deepali Rokade

The 16-team ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup will be held between 7 January and 29 January 2023 in South Africa and is the first-ever age group ICC women’s event.
The 16 teams are divided into groups of four as below:
Group A: Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and USA
Group B: England, Pakistan, Rwanda, and Zimbabwe
Group C: Indonesia, Ireland, New Zealand, and West Indies
Group D: India, Scotland, South Africa, and the UAE
The top three teams from each group will progress to the Super Six round, where teams will be pooled into two groups of six. Group 1 will comprise three teams from each of Groups A and D, while Group 2 will have three teams each from Groups B and C. The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, which will both be played on 27 January. The final will take place on 29 January.

There will be 16 warm-up matches taking place on 9 and 11 January in the cities of Johannesburg and Tshwane.
The World Cup matches will take place in Benoni and Potchefstroom across four venues. USA’s three Group A fixtures are:

Saturday 14 January, 13:45 (local). Sri Lanka U19s Women v USA U19s Women, Willowmoore Park B Field, Benoni
Monday 16 January, 13:45 (local). Australia U19s Women v USA U19s Women, Willowmoore Park B Field, Benoni
Wednesday 18 January, 10:00 (local). Bangladesh U19s Women v USA U19s Women, Willowmoore Park B Field, Benoni