ICC Under 19 Women T20 World Cup

USA Suffer Huge Defeat Against Australia

News January 16, 2023 admin

The Australia team celebrate the fall of wicket.

Australia raced to a nine-wicket victory over the United States of America (USA), as they bounced back from their opening defeat in the ICC Under19 Women’s T20 World Cup Group A fixture in Benoni on Monday.

Australia won the toss and elected to field first, as they looked to get the loss to Bangladesh out of their system. Maggie Clark led from the front with the ball, snaring two wickets and then reacting sharply to effect the run out of Disha Dhingra, opening the Aussie wicket account.

Clark had Snigdha Paul (17) bowled out, as the left-hander chopped on trying to boost the scoring. USA kept trying to break free, but clever Australian bowling saw Paul and Laasaya Mullapudi (10) be the only batters to get into double figures.

The Aussies will look at the 11 wides that they conceded as an area that can be improved upon, but they put that aside to bowl USA out for just 64, in 15.3 overs.

The chase was just as efficient, as Australia boosted their net run-rate considerably. Kate Pelle opened the scoring with a six to signal the intent for the innings. She breezed along to 30 not out from just 26 balls, with a pair of sixes and fours.

Her opening partner Paris Bowdler was bowled by Paul for 7, but Claire Moore found her stride right away, hurrying to 22 not out from 17 deliveries. Victory soon arrived in the 9th over, as Australia won with 68 balls to spare.

The win sees them level on points with Sri Lanka, setting up a decisive final group clash for the pair. The daunting prospect of group leaders Bangladesh lies in wait for USA, who continue to show a great attitude and willingness to learn, in the country’s first appearance in any ICC event for ten years.

Scores in brief:
Toss: Australia, who elected to bowl first.
USA 64 all out in 15.3 overs (Snigdha Paul 17, Maggie Clark two for 14)
Australia 65 for one in 8.4 overs (Kate Pelle 30 not out, Claire Moore 22 not out)
Australia won by nine wickets, with 68 balls to spare.