ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013 |Scorecard
William Porterfield posted the highest individual score in the history of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier as Ireland extended its unbeaten run to four matches in the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013 (WT20Q) at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

Ireland William Porterfield 127 help sink USA. (Photo by Graham Crouch-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

Left-handed Porterfield clubbed 12 fours and five sixes in a 69-ball 127 as Ireland posted a colossal 216 for three against the United States of America (USA). In turn, the USA was bowled out for 141 in 19.3 overs to suffer its third defeat in four outings.

The star of the sixth day was Ireland captain William Porterfield, who become the sixth batsman to score a century in the history of the tournament and fourth batsman after Irfan Ahmed (Hong Kong), Tony Ura (Papua New Guinea) and Rakep Patel (Kenya) to reach three figures in the first five days of the current tournament.

While smashing 127 not out, he also eclipsed the record of Namibia’s LP van der Westhuizen, an unconquered 106 against Scotland in 2012. Two days later in the same competition, Calum MacLeod of Scotland scored 104 not out against Oman.

Porterfield, later named man of the match, made the USA pay dearly for putting Ireland in to bat when he featured in a solid 94-run first wicket partnership with Stirling (25) in just over eight overs, which laid the foundation for the intimidating total of 216 for three.

Porterfield, who was adjudged the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year at the LG ICC Awards in 2009, then put on 65 runs in an unfinished fourth wicket stand with John Mooney, whose contribution in the partnership was 32 runs off 13 balls, with two fours and as many sixes.

The USA made a brave start to its target chase when it reached 30 without the loss of a wicket in three overs. After that, however, the side could not maintain the required run-rate nor keep wickets intact, and was bowled out for 141 in 19.3 overs.

Stirling followed up his 25 with three for 25 while Mooney rounded off a good day with bowling figures of two for 18.

At the ICC Academy Oval 1, former champion Afghanistan made short work of Bermuda with an eight wicket victory. Mohammad Shahzad clubbed nine fours and two sixes in an unbeaten 36-ball 60, including a six off the final delivery, as Mohammad Nabi’s side surpassed the 102-run target in less than 10 overs.

This was Afghanistan’s third straight victory in the competition, after making a poor start by losing to the Netherlands by seven wickets on Friday, the first day of the tournament.

Elsewhere, Hong Kong notched up its fourth victory in five matches when it outfoxed Namibia by eight wickets, thanks to spinners Nadeem Ahmed (three for 18) and Munir Dar (two for 18) sharing five wickets between them before skipper Jamie Atkinson hit 50, while a man of the match performance by Mudassar Bukhari (three for 15) helped the Netherlands beat Nepal by five wickets at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

By virtue of this victory, the Dutch have taken sole possession of the number-one spot in Group B with eight points (four wins and one loss) while Nepal remains in second place with six points (three wins and two loses).

Scores in brief:
At Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Ireland 216-3, 20 overs (William Porterfield 127 not out, John Mooney 32 not out, Paul Stirling 25; Danial Ahmed 2-30)
USA 141 all out, 19.3 overs (Akeem Dodson 27, Neil McGarrell 23, Timroy Allen 20; Paul Stirling 3-25, John Mooney 2-18, George Dockrell 2-19, Max Sorensen 2-24)
Result: Ireland won by 75 runs
Man of the Match: William Porterfield (Ireland)
At Abu Dhabi Oval 2, Abu Dhabi

Namibia 111-9, 20 overs (LP van der Westhuizen 22; Nadeem Ahmed 3-18, Munir Dar 2-18)
Hong Kong 114/2 (Jamie Atkinson 50, Waqas Barkat 34 not out, Nizakat Khan 20 not out)
Result: Hong Kong won by 8 wickets
Man of the Match: Jamie Atkinson (Hong Kong)

At ICC Academy Oval 1, Dubai
Bermuda 101 all out, 18.1 overs (Lionel Cann 28; Samiullah Shenwari 3-20, Karim Sadiq 2-16, Shapoor Zadran 2-18, Mohammad Nabi 2-27)
Afghanistan 104-2, 9.5 overs (Mohammad Shahzad 60 not out, Mohammad Nabi 33)
Result: Afghanistan won by 8 wickets
Man of the Match: Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

At Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Nepal 107-6, 20 wickets (Gyanendra Malla 44, Binod Bhandari 29; Mudassar Bukhari 3-15, Ahsan Malik 2-29)
Netherlands 110-5, 16.2 overs (Stephan Myburgh 31, Eric Szwarczynski 21 not out;  Basant Regmi 3-12)
Result: Netherlands won by 5 wickets
Man of the Match: Mudassar Bukhari (Netherlands)